Main Menu
Victorian Culture
Victorian Newspapers
Email Us

Phrenology in Bristol

Phrenology by Professor G Rudd in 1928 at 31 Lower Arcade, Bristol, England

Previous - Menu - Contents Page - Next

Classification, Location, Definition and Subdivision of the Phrenological Organs.


Physiology recognises the body as composed of organs which are mediums of different functions and organs are called temperaments.
There are many temperaments as there are distinct functions, but for the sake of brevity they are classified under three general heads:-

VITAL – Embracing all the internal organs and functions; giving life, physical enjoyment, heat, and excitability.

MOTIVE – Embracing the framework of the body, the bones and muscles, giving locomotion, physical action, strength of the body, endurance, and tenacity.

MENTAL – Embracing the whole nervous system, giving susceptibility, intensity, thought, action, mental emotion, ability to take on education and mental culture.

These three divisions comprise all the organs and functions of the body, including the brain.*

PHRENOLOGY explains the functions of the brain, as manifested in the phenomena of thought and mental emotion.

The first natural division of the Mind is into Feelings and Intellect.  The Feelings give impulse, energy, executiveness, appetite, ambition, pride, will, sympathy, love, friendship, fear, reserve, respect, kindness, justice, hope, faith, imagination, &c., and are located in the coronal, occipital, and basilar portions of the brain.  The Intellect gives thought, reason, discernment, intuition, knowledge, observation, memory, system, wit, music, &c., and is located in the forehead.

The Feelings are subdivided into five classes:

Class 1st – The DOMESTIC PROPENSITIES embraces Amativeness, Conjugality, Philoprogenitiveness, Friendship, Inhabitiveness, and Continuity.

Class 2nd – The SELFISH PROPENSITIES embrace Vitativeness, Combaliveness, Destructiveness, Alimentiveness, Acquisitiveness and Secretiveness.

Class 3rd – The SELFISH SENTIMENTS embrace  Cautiousness, Approbativeness , Self-Esteem.

Class 4th – The Moral and religious sentiments embrace firmness, Conscientiousness, Hope, Spirituality, Veneration, and Benevolence.

Class 5th – The PERFECTING OR SEMI-INTELLECTUAL SENTIMENTS embrace Constructiveness, Ideality, Sublimity, Imitation, and Mirthfulness.

The Intellect is subdivided into two classes:

Class 1st – The OBSERVING, KNOWING, AND PERCEPTIVE FACULTIES embrace Individuality, Form, Size, Weight, Colour, Order, Calculation, Locality, Eventuality, Time, Tune, and Language.

Class 2nd – The REFLECTIVE, REASONING, AND INTUITIVE FACULTIES embrace  Causality, Comparison, Human Nature, and Agreeableness.

*For a full explanation of this subject the reader is referred to L. N. Fowler’s lecture on the temperaments.